Spooky knits!

I heart knitting. And zombies. And zombies who knit. With entrails. Or yarn.

A good day. June 14, 2010

The pattern I am knitting, Annis, is a crescent-shaped shawl described as ‘piquant’ (which, according to Knitty, means ‘A little something for the seasoned knitter. Daring but not exhausting’). I’d say this is overestimating the difficulty. The lace rows were simple but there were nupps involved which tend to freak people out. The rest of the shawl is simple knitting and purling with short rows. It’s definitely a TV/movie knitting project.
This morning I knit while watching The Unbearable Lightness of Being. I have seen quite a few Philip Kaufman films lately.
I’m almost through with the short row section which essentially means that I’m nearly finished with the shawl.

This yarn is very soft and is kettle-dyed so there is a bit of color variation. I like how there is a subtle striping effect in the body of the shawl. I am looking forward to seeing this blocked.
Speaking of blocking supplies, I still haven’t received the blocking wires I ordered. For some reason they shipped separately from everything else. I did receive the yarn (because I had to have enough in my cart to qualify for free shipping and there is always room for more laceweight) and it was not what I expected. I ordered ‘deep waters’ thinking it was a deep, murky marine suitable for a Shipwreck shawl. What I received was this vibrant, royal blue yarn:

I’m sure this would work but it wouldn’t be what I pictured which is really what I want for that shawl — a deep, murky color with a bit of glittery beads like grains of sand or light dancing on water. Perhaps I’ll use it to make Forget-Me-Not; I received that pattern in a swap last year and have it around here somewhere. Or maybe I’ll use it for something more ambitious, I have 3 skeins of it after all.
Still, I’m disappointed it isn’t what I had envisioned.

In non-knitting news, today I baked blondies loosely based on Dorie Greenspan’s recipe. I ran a bit low on chocolate chips so I used what I had and added sweetened, shredded coconut; roasted, salted almonds; pecans. I’m thinking they will still be good.

There was also time for a rousing game of tug.

Life is good.

 

One Response to “A good day.”

  1. Sarah Says:

    The blondies look great! And I’m glad you fit in a game of tug. 🙂


Leave a Reply

