Spooky knits!

I heart knitting. And zombies. And zombies who knit. With entrails. Or yarn.

WIP: Bitterroot shawl January 8, 2012

Filed under: Knitting — Spooky @ 8:14 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m nearly finished with  my first FO of 2012, , from Knitty’s winter issue 2009. I started this back in July of last year but last year was a poor knitting year with no finished items to speak of due to a mysterious and intense chronic pain syndrome that I now know is fibromyalgia (and my pain and happiness level is much improved with appropriate medication, thank God for my rheumatologist!). This shawl is, I think, my first full-sized shawl (I am partial to the smaller shawlettes for fashion and also for ease of knitting) and also my first beaded one. I have discovered that my true joy is knitting lace — the more challenging, the better, with nupps and beads and fancy edgings, etc. The problem is I’m not exactly the shawl-wearing type and I wouldn’t know what to do with a stockpile of lacey shawls. Hmmm.
At any rate, this one is finished. I have to cast off and soak and block it and I hope to do that this evening when we are back from Annapolis. I will update with full project details then but it is knit from malabrigo lace (lovely, smooshy yarn and I need more of it, MUCH MORE) on size 6 circular needles with multicolor beads picked up from Michael’s. I did fall in love with a pinky-purple crystal japanese seed bead but they came in tiny little tubes and I needed 500 or so of them and it didn’t seem economical so I bought a coordinating variety pack instead. I actually bought 3 of them, underestimating the number of beads per pack. I still have the receipt so I will probably return the other 2.
Here is a sneak peek:

Pretty, right?
What is next? I’ve been wanting to start a circular shawl for years. I like to do a ‘palate cleanser’ of sorts between big complicated projects but the unseasonably warm weather is not inspiring me to knit mittens or a scarf or hat. Perhaps a beret with the remainder of the malabrigo, I have nearly an entire skein left.

2012 will be a good year, filled with many FOs and good knitting mojo. ❤

 

One Response to “WIP: Bitterroot shawl”

  1. Looks good! I’m glad you were able to identify the cause of your pain. A few people close to me have fibro and it’s tough to deal with. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

